Where I’m Drinking – The Pour House – Back Bay

I recently had some business in the Back Bay. It was hot, I was tired and a bit frustrated, so I wanted to de- stress for a minute or so. I thought about places I knew in the neighborhood, I chose the Pour House.  

fZi9EFkK_400x400 (2)

from twitter

The Pour House has, like myself, been in Boston for a long time. I haven’t been there for quite a while, and it was comforting to see that not much has changed. In fact, I can’t think of a damn thing that’s changed.

The Pour House has a very standard beer list, which seems to fit the character of the place. I ordered a Harpoon IPA, which is pretty much my go-to beer these days. Unexpectedly, the beer came in a twenty-two ounce mug.

Pour House

“Wow, it’s a man’s drink” I said.

“That’s how we roll here.” The bartender said.

Let me be a beer nerd for a second. I prefer my beer in a pint glass. Sixteen ounces works just fine for fine for me. Judge my manhood if you must, but I just don’t drink fast enough for a twenty-two ounce beer. It often gets warm by the time I finish. This, however, is really my only complaint about the Pour House, they gave me too much beer. If that is my biggest problem of the day, it’s a good day.

The bartender was cute, engaging, and efficient. The whole staff seemed to be having a good time, which makes for a fun atmosphere. I was digging the 90’s music they were playing.

The Pour House is certainly the most dive-like place in the Back Bay, which means it isn’t very dive-y at all, but it attracts a diverse crowd of after-work people and students. There were a bunch of people down the bar caring musical instruments, I’ll go out on limb and guess they were Berklee kids. The other end of bar seemed to have a business meeting going on.

I sat towards the front area of the bar, the TV setup there was not very good for watching a game. It seemed the back part of the place was better set up. There were signs behind the bar claiming it was the place to be for Syracuse U. football games, so go Orangemen.

On a side note, I could not get a decent cell phone signal inside. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing, because although I do it all the time, I don’t really like being the guy sitting at the bar on his cellphone.

The Pour House is a good time. I don’t know if I would go too far out of my way to get there, but when in the neighborhood it is a good, comfortable place to stop in for a beer.  The staff is friendly and fun. There is nothing fancy or pretentious about the place, which makes it a welcome break from so many other spots in the Back Bay. Most importantly, the place has a soul and a character to it. It’s a place worth a stop.

The Pour House

907 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02115

@pourboston

 

Leave a Reply

